Week 4 Discussion

Rochelle M

I joined UWEC’s WisPIRG Energy Service Corps a few semesters ago and had surprisingly great communication with the group for it being on campus. Our group met once a week on campus and we were all constantly emailing each other to keep in the loop.

I would say we were a “Social group” with a  purpose to educate and engage communities around energy efficiency.

We stayed in close communication with the entire group. We were either working on projects together or meeting about a new project we would like to accomplish together. The group wasn’t very big only consisting of maybe 10 members.

What I find was effective though through our communication was how informed we all were. By having meetings and sending emails about our meeting and about our new projects, everyone was aware of what was happening or going to be happening. Also because of our great communication it drove me to continue on with the group. We’ve all been in a group where there is horrible communication and you can’t get out fast enough. But with good communication throughout the group we all were connected and involved, which kept us motivated.

2 thoughts on “Week 4 Discussion

  1. teampenguine says:

    I think that you brought up a good point. Communication and interest are central to a good group experience. The more ties that members have to a group the stronger the group is. Although, I think that your example sounds more task oriented than social. Great work.

  2. Breanna I says:

    I think it is an interesting point that you bring up. The way the group communicates can completely change your experience as a part of the group. If I were part of an organization on campus that did not value my opinion or communicate effectively I would have little motivation to continue on this the group’s activities. It was an interesting point that made me think a little bit.

Leave a Reply

