Week 4 Discussion

Heath Nicholson

In organizations you have been part of, what communication have you experienced that was particularly effective – be specific. What was the communication and how did it persuade you?

Last semester I joined Beta Upsilon Sigma (B.U.S.). B.U.S. is a student organization that was created to provide students like myself experience in a few areas we might be seeing in our careers, as well as a lot of other great volunteer opportunities. We communicate in several ways, such as a presentation to the entire organization or a mass email.  In my opinion, the most effective means of communication is interpersonal communication. Not only does interpersonal communication allows the sender to tailor a much more specific message to the receiver; but the sender can consider the receiver’s feedback to adjust her/his message while sending it. The best example I can think of for this situation is the always reliable guilt trip. Although I help people out when I can, I find myself giving into a guilt trip via interpersonal communication much more often than I am persuaded by an email or a presentation.

2 thoughts on “Week 4 Discussion

  1. rochellem5 says:

    This was a good example that you used. I had never thought of a guilt trip being interpersonal communication. But I would have to agree with you as to how that method would cause a response over an email or presentation that seems to be wider spread then interpersonally communicated.

  2. teampenguine says:

    That was an awesome example. I feel the same way when my sister asks me for favors. I don’t think that this needs improvement at all. Great work.

Leave a Reply

