Week 6 Discussion Question

How would you explain to your parents what public relations is? Provide an example to help them understand.

I don’t think I would have to explain what public relations is to either of my parents as their jobs involve public relations everyday.  I can use eithier of my parents jobs, but I will use my mother’s job for as an example here.  She is a project manager for a large company and has to continuously mediate between everyone on her team as well as with her bosses and other people within the company.  A definition I found states that public relations in the profession of maintaining a companies publics such as their employees and customers.  This is definition is dead on for what my mother does.  To sum her job up with one sentences I would say… She mediates relationships between herself, other employees as well as her customers to ensure that customer experiences a smooth transition into the companies system.  So in this case I think my parents both can understand public relations given the fact that I can use either of them as examples.

3 thoughts on “Week 6 Discussion Question

  1. rochellem5 says:

    I like how you used a personal experience with how you and your family know about PR. It sounds like you have a good understanding of it. Good Work.

  2. teampenguine says:

    Both of your parents sound like they have a tough job. Getting people to agree on anything is very difficult. I don’t think that your post needs any work and it looks like you have a good understanding of PR. Great work.

  3. This is a good example of how PR has a lot to do with keeping everyone on the same page. I think it’s interesting that PR and Marketing or so similar, when it comes to analyzing the public they do a lot of similar things. Good example, its neat to see what some people actually do in PR.

Leave a Reply

