Week 8 Discussion Question

By: Shelly F.

Based on the concepts from Unit 2 (see Concept Book Unit 2) or from the textbook (for example, see page 300), explain why your most favorite or hated ads had an influence on you. What was it that worked – or didn’t work?

Two of the ads that I used last week were political and therefore had either a clear liberal or conservative bias.  I hated both of these ads not only because they follow the agenda setting theory which is based on rousing public awareness on one side of an issue, but also because they focused more on press agentry and publicity due to the upcoming election.  The ads in question had a repulsive effect on my perception of both candidates.  Not because I disliked their respective platforms, but because their campaign managers had endorsed the use of mud-slinging.  I know that a reverse snob-appeal technique is effective, but it makes me distrustful because it makes me think that both candidates are among those who believe that “the ends justify the means.”  If I didn’t know what women had to do to acquire the right to vote in the first place I might not exercise it (see http://www.infoplease.com/spot/womenstimeline1.html).

Leave a Reply

