Week 10 Discussion

Heath Nicholson

Procrastination got the best of me in Week 10

Which of the five types of convergence media do you understand least – and how does it affect you?

Multi-platform convergence makes the least sense to me. I understand that it is companies operating in ways that create a win-win situation, but I don’t understand the steps a company would take in order to decide which company to make a deal with. Obviously, utilizing another companies publics in order to spread more awareness of your own company is beneficial. But deciding which company would be difficult. Using a competitor’s resources would be the most desired, but I doubt that would happen. For example, if I’m a clothing retailor, it would be hard to decide which company to target. Everyone wears clothes, but what company’s customers would want to buy my specific style of clothes? It sound like massive audience analysis is necessary!

Leave a Reply

