Week 12 Discussion Question

To what extent have your CJ105 concept definitions relied on copying definitions from Wikipedia and other Internet sources – is that plagiarism?

I think it is really hard to define plagiarism specifically but to me it would be the intentional use of someone else’s work as your own.  I have often wondered how plagiarism can be policed because it is very possible that two people can come to the same conclusion or opinion about a topic and write incredibly similar articles or stories, etc. on one topic.  For example there were many scientist that have developed the same ideas and theories on their own without knowing anything about the other person or even knowing they were working on it.  So if one person publishes his work first and the second goes to publish his own individual work it certainly isn’t plagiarism even though he is publishing the same thing.  I also wonder to because if you read an interesting article a year ago about a certain topic and then have to write a paper about the same topic you might end up quoting that article very closely without even remembering you have read that article.  So in my opinion plagiarism is a touchy and difficult topic to define and I have never purposely plagiarized someone’s material but I have certainly taken thoughts or ideas and modified them to fit my own ideas and needs.

One thought on “Week 12 Discussion Question

  1. rochellem5 says:

    Great explanation for this discussion. I have to agree with you completely. As I say in my discussion, we use others work as guidelines to our own work. Good work!

Leave a Reply

