Week 13 Discussion Question

Based on your media log, and the kind of media you use on a regular basis, what are your responsibilities in using media?

Personally, the media I consume the most would consist of online television services such as Netflix and Hulu Plus.  I also use the internet regularly for checking my email, school research assignments and going on Facebook.  I think that my responsibilities for using the media are simply to be able to separate fact from fiction.  I watch a lot of crime dramas like Law and Order:  SVU and Bones among other shows like Dexter, Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead.  None of these shows are completely factual but there are certainly elements of fact within all of them.  To make the show believable they have to have their scientific facts correct but at the same time they can simplify them or fudge them to make it more accessible to viewers not educated to a scientific field.   Even when you consider emails you have to be able to weed out the emails that are not relevant to you or are simply false advertising or scams.  You much be an educated user and not believe everything you see or hear on the internet or television shows for that matter.  Here is a State Farm commercial that I think illustrates my point.  I honestly don’t think that this man is a French model, but hey that’s what he said online so it must be true.

One thought on “Week 13 Discussion Question

  1. lorchuev says:

    I like the use of the commercial. My roommate actually got a T.V. recently and is watching a lot of it now, and I hear that commercial quiet a bit. Each time I hear it I always laugh a little. You make a very good point about separating fact from fiction too.

Leave a Reply

