Week 13 Concept Definition

Heath Nicholson

Exogenous Vs. Indigenous Media Productions

Exogenous vs. Indigenous Media Productions, to me, can be defined respectively as news stories created from an external source vs. news stories created from an internal or “local” source. The reason I highlight “local” is because I think if a news story is internal it can be either something produced within the same city, state, or country, depending on the story. For example, if the story being considered is the Green Bay Packers season, I would consider anything produced within Wisconsin an indigenous media production and anything outside of the Wisconsin an exogenous media production (especially Minnesota).

On the other hand, if I lived in Greece and the issue at hand was the stability of Greece’s Economy I would consider “Greece’s Only Option Is Default”, an article by Daniel Hanson in the Wall Street Journal produced outside of Greece, an exogenous media production while any media production created in Greece would be indigenous. It’s interesting how much the story may differ simply depending on where it is produced.

Greece’s Only Option Is Default: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887324352004578133100503267698.html

2 thoughts on “Week 13 Concept Definition

  1. teampenguine says:

    I liked your post. It clearly demonstrated the difference between the two. I don’t think that your post needs any work. Good job.

  2. Breanna I says:

    I like the use of the Packers as well as the mention of Minnesota as an exogenous media production source. I think you do have to consider what is defined as local since that is not a very solid definition.

Leave a Reply

