Week 13 Discussion

Heath Nicholson

Based on your media log, and the kind of media you use on a regular basis, what are your responsibilities in using media?

The first responsibility that comes to mind in media responsibility is that we can’t believe everything we hear or see. It’s a good practice to remain aware that there are hidden agendas everywhere and much or the information we receive is driven by money – not intrinsically motivated truth-tellers. After thinking about it more, I realized another responsibility I have: not supporting terrible television. For example, I make it a point to keep the channel away from “Teen Mom” and similar programs at all times. Aired television depends on what the audience wants to watch. And for some unimaginable reason people tune into “Teen Mom” consistently, prolonging its existence.

To summarize my responsibilities I would say that I feel we need to remain aware that media is not all fact and that our behavior determines what networks choose to air – so view responsibly.

One thought on “Week 13 Discussion

  1. teampenguine says:

    I agree with your aversion to “Teen Mom;” the only thing keeping it running must be it’s shock factor. I like how you noted the vicious circle as why certain shows are on the air. I don’t think that your post needs any work. Good job.

Leave a Reply

